Government Structure


In Ohio, the township is a critical component in an integrated approach to service delivery. This approach involves the state, the county, and the township in a system that designates each jurisdiction's specific responsibilities in the areas of policing and road maintenance. In addition, the township, a political subdivision of the state, has certain local powers and functions designated by the state. Harrison Township, like other Ohio Townships, is responsible for providing the following services and functions for our residents:

  • Road maintenance
  • Police protection
  • Fire protection
  • Parks and recreation
  • Zoning
  • Waste disposal

Overseeing the day-to-day operations of the township is the responsibility of the administrator and his staff. The duties of this department include general government, finance, accounts payable, human resources, payroll and trash services, including billing.

The Township Administrator is Kris McClintick. The offices are located at the Government Center, 5945 North Dixie Drive and the phone number is (937) 890-5611.

Service Department

Keeping our roadways safe, passable, clean, and attractive is the responsibility of the Harrison Township Services Department. The department accomplishes this goal with 15 employees. In addition to routine maintenance, they manage numerous capital improvement projects throughout the township. Additional responsibilities include building and park maintenance as well as vehicle maintenance.

Merle Cyphers is the Director of the Township Services. The service department offices are located at 2409 Rector Avenue, near the I-75/Needmore Road interchange and the phone number is (937) 274-6871.

Fire Department

The Harrison Township Fire Department provides comprehensive fire protection, education, and prevention as well as emergency medical services to township citizens. The staff is trained and equipped to handle special emergency situations, including hazardous material (Haz-Mat) incidents and extrication (confined space rescue). With the department responding to approximately 1,000 fire calls and 5,500 emergency medical service calls per year, it's the second most active department in Montgomery County behind the Dayton Fire Department.

The department employs a full-time fire chief, three battalion chiefs, 23 full-time firefighters, and 41 part-time firefighters. Mike Crist is the Interim Fire Chief.

The department operates from two strategically located stations. Station 94 is located at 2400 Turner Road, Dayton and Station 95 is located at 2301 Needmore Road, Dayton. The administrative office is located at Station 94. The department has earned an insurance rating (ISO) of four.

Our dispatch methods include 911 and an 800 Mhz radio system. Non-emergency calls should be directed to (937) 274-4351. In the event of an emergency, dial 911.

Development Department

The Harrison Township Development Department works to protect the community's health, safety, welfare and appearance. We accomplish this goal primarily through the enforcement of the zoning code, which ensures that new developments and other improvements are compatible with the surrounding community and neighborhood.

Another strategy is enforcement of the property maintenance code, which protects the community's appearance by establishing minimum standards for the upkeep of businesses, houses, yards and vacant lots. This helps to protect our property values and quality of life.

Harrison Township's neighborhood associations are supported by the department, as well. Some 18 neighborhoods have banded together as associations to deal with the quality-of-life issues that affect their immediate area. In some cases, they've banded together strictly for crime watch. In others, they also work to promote neighborhood improvement and pride.

The department is also responsible for numerous activities that encourage economic development and growth.

Code-enforcement duties are shared by two code enforcement officers. The department is responsible for all aspects of community development, zoning and code enforcement activities.

Harrison Township Sheriff's Substation

Police services are provided to Harrison Township residents through a contract between the Township and the Montgomery County Sheriff's Office. Thirty-six Sheriff's deputies work out of the Harrison Township Substation, located at 5945 North Dixie Drive. Captain Brad Daugherty is the Harrison Township Substation (D10) commander. Non-emergency calls should be directed to (937) 225-4357. For emergency calls, dial 911.

The Montgomery County Sheriff's Office is one of only 15 sheriff's offices in the country to be nationally accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies.